Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

There is no doubt that learning English is being considered as more crucial than studying native languages. In this essay I will discuss why it is important to learn English for everyone.

It is an undeniable fact that English is an international language and spoken worldwide. A wide variety of opportunities open up for an individual who has a sufficient knowledge on this language. Travelling around the world would become relatively easy. For example, in India, each state has its own language and a person can travel to any place in the country and can comfortably communicate with the locals. However, if this isn’t the case, his life might become miserable. As a result, he would have fewer opportunities compared to a person who can speak and understand English.

Having said that, it is also important for people to protect their own language from becoming extinct. Local languages can bring a sense of equality among their people with similar mother tongue. It also helps in building confidence and self-esteem. This can only be achieved with the help of youngsters. It is the responsibility of parents and teachers to make the children understand the significance of learning their native language. By doing this, they can carry forward the knowledge on the language to the future generations and help it from vanishing completely.

In conclusion, it is necessary for the citizens to have knowledge on English as it presents numerous options in front of them. Furthermore, in my opinion it is also their responsibility to protect their own language.