Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

Learning english is considered more important than the study of local languages. This can result in the extinction of the local languages around different parts of the world. I believe we should conserve native language conserve native languages and ensure english is taught substantially.

Firstly, the english language has definitely become the universal language for people to communicate. Therefore, almost everywhere is composed of english whether it concerns technology, books or even signs. Additionally, moving abroad to many countries for educational or career purposes require one to be able to communicate in english as it is common known by many people. For instance, the IELTS exam is required to be taken by anyone aiming to pursue their studies abroad. This is due to the minimum requirement set by most universities and colleges as they require their students to be able to utilize the english language in many ways.

On the other hand, the preservation of native languages is required as it accounts significantly to the culture held by a country. To elaborate, many languages have lasted for long periods of time and the failure to maintain the language can cause a loss of identity in a society. As a result, rich history in certain languages are lost. In addition, many intriguing documents written in local languages can be completely pointless. As a result, large amount of knowledge can be lost in these books, reports or articles. However, a solution to this issue is to be introduce school lessons which educate the younger generations these languages. For example, the country of Bangladesh preserves its language by including the subject of Bangla in their sylabbus. Hence, students are able to speak, read and write in the Bengali language and keep hold of their lingual roots.

To conclude, I stand firm on my opinion to educate English to masses of people as it required nearly everywhere. Guarding a local language of a community by teaching juveniles in schools is also crucial and helps to prevent the loss of cultural diversity.