Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

English is a gateway to the world and no one should be deprived of the opportunities that arise for those with a strong command of the English language. This does not mean that local languages are dispensable, however. They have an important role to play in supporting education, including English language education.

People who insist on prioritising local languages are often those who can speak fluent English themselves. Advocates of minority languages need to be fluent in English in order to research their field and support the cause at international conferences. In doing so, however, they are also demonstrating why English is so important. Learning English allows people to gain knowledge, communicate with society, further themselves as individuals and have a global impact. It is unfair to willingly dispossess people of this ability in order to preserve tradition.

However, this does not mean local languages can be forgotten or downplayed. People are more likely to succeed – not just at learning English, but in employment and education generally – if they are immersed in a community rich in history and tradition. Local dialects are a part of this tradition. Efforts to regenerate and celebrate indigenous cultures in recent decades have demonstrated that the preservation of local languages and the teaching of English are mutually-reinforcing developments. In this way, the local language serves as the bedrock for learning English, rather than being an obstacle in need of removal.

I think it is important for everyone to learn English but I feel it is unnecessary to frame learning English and keeping local languages alive as conflicting possibilities. Each goal supports the other. We should focus on how best to develop both English and local languages in particular local contexts.