Many argue that a country's success is best measured by the happiness and well-being of its citizens, while others believe that economic growth and stability are the primary indicators. Discuss both views and give your opinion on the most important metric for national progress.

In the modern era, the question of whether it is best to utilise the citizens’ happiness and wellbeing as an indicator of a country’s success, or whether a nation’s economic growth and stability is a better measurement, has sparked significant debate. While some argue that the individuals’ happiness and wellbeing is more essential because it raises motivations and productivity, others believe that a nation’s economic growth is a better indicator as it enhances quality of living. This essay will examine both perspectives before giving my reasoned stance.

On the one hand, the most compelling reason why some believe that the citizens’ happiness and wellbeing is the best measurement of a nation’s success is because it enhances individuals’ motivation to work, thus contributing to the community’s development. Specifically, being in a good mental state is essential to be productive. For instance, a person who suffers from depression tend to not want to interact with anyone, and could potentially become a shut-in person with no motivation to work. Consequently, companies will not have enough talents at work, which makes it harder for them to generate profit and contribute to the country’s GDP. Besides, the government will also have to support unemployed individuals, meaning more national funds cannot be allocated to developmental projects, but rather allowances for these people. Therefore, it is essential for the nation to ensure its citizens’ emotional wellbeing.

On the other hand, others argue that a country with good economic development and stability can provide better quality and standard of living. This is because with factual numbers on economic development, the government will have more capital to invest in better healthcare facilities, infrastructures, and educational systems to provide for its citizens. Furthermore, the government can issue more subsidies to support their less fortunate citizens. With good education and packages to support the individuals’ monetary issues, the citizens have more opportunities to find works, thus increasing the possibility to reduce crime rates. This makes the country more peaceful and liveable, which contributes to their success as a country.

From my perspective, to become a successful nation, the government has to achieve both of these previously mentioned indicators simultaneously. It is critical to have a balance between ensuring the individuals’ wellbeing to promote productivity and having a stable economy to offer works and support packages to assist its citizens.