"Many cities around the world are facing serious housing shortages. What are the causes of this problem, and what can be done to solve it?"

People nowadays have less opportunities to live in urban areas, especially in big cities, due to problem of housing shortages. Increasing number of people, that have moved from rural area to urban, only exacerbated that issue. The second reason is inefficient using of places, such as office buildings or supermarkets.

Higer incomes in cities areas forces individuals to relocate from small village to city. It also leads to increasing number of people that couldn’t afford their own house or apartment, as a result building company don’t have enough money to construct new house. Governments must take few steps to mitigate overpopulation in cities. To alleviate the low income in rural areas the administration must provide financial support for that area. If the developers find out cost-effective way to build cheaper, it will be facilitated to prevent housing shortages.

In the past the status of company was determined by their main office, so city centers were surrounded by high towers. Today, these buildings are placed in the best area of the city and usually half of buildings are empty, because of high office rent. Another part is occupied by workers, who spend most of their time at computers. If the government buys out that towers, the city gets a significant number of new squares of living places. Company employees could transform their jobs into online.

In summary, remodeling the vacant buildings into affordable housing and improving the economy in rural areas, we could alleviate the problem of housing shortages and improve living conditions for citizen and villagers.