Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

These days a large number of criminals commit offences even after being in prison. There are a number of reasons for this. I will discuss this in the following paragraphs.

In the first place, by being and interacting with other offenders in prison for a long time, a subconscious effect on psychological state of criminals may appear. This can be explained by the fact, that when criminals are staying in prison, they become closer to ones who committed heavy criminal activities. Moreover, some convicts may do illegal activities during being in prisons. Consequently, some criminals may follow them and think that it is an appropriate behavior. Therefore, solution such as sessions with psychologists may help offenders understand social regulations and standards. In addition, if the level of punishment were increased, some criminals would have fear to carry out the crimes twice.

The second reason for repeated crimes is that society does not accept criminals after prison. Although some convicts may be talented enough to accomplish some types of jobs, employers do not trust them, as they may steal or do other crimes. As a solution, the government may provide criminals with social work or add classes where offenders may receive basic skills in any fields. For example, criminals may take some automobile repair courses and this, in turn, may offer them a job in the future.

Taking all the above into consideration, it can be concluded that psychological effect during interaction with other convicts and not acceptance by society are the main reasons of repeated crimes. However, sessions with psychologists and certain trainings may help avoid further crimes.