Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

The tendency to repeat breaking the law after releasing from prison is increasing year on year. According to the statistics, the culprits who commit repetitive crimes are much more than those who perpetrate crime the first time. This trend can be explained in several ways, and there are two practical measures that can be taken to discourage this habit.

The primary reason why ex-prisoners cannot return to normal life is a lack of vacancies for employees with criminal backgrounds. Because the cost of living is expensive and a small number of organizations offer a job opportunity, criminals do not see a way out of these difficulties. A solution is for the government to help with promotion in workplaces. For example, in Uzbekistan, since 2023 the government has been given subsidies for companies to encourage employers to allot a position to ex-offenders. Moreover, the authority can promote vacation courses in prisons to facilitate getting a degree to make it easier to find a job after releasing them from imprisonment.

Another cause could be psychological disease in prisoners. If they do commit crimes over and over again, and enjoy their actions, they have to be sent to treatment in a mental hospital. Many felons can be life-threatening for civilians, in this case, life imprisonment or supervision would be the best solution.

In conclusion, although there could be some factors that tempt imprisonments to commit crimes again, there are still cases provoked by mental illnesses. If on the former occasion, the government may implement educational programs and subsidize organizations to increase the number of job places, then the latter case might be tackled only in psychiatric clinics.