Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Some people argue that governments should prohibit the sale and consumption of alcohol and tobacco as same as they ban the use of strong drugs like cocaine and heroin, and laws that are applied on hard drugs should be enforced equally on all types of drugs including alcohol and tobacco. I think all drugs are not same and same laws cannot be enforced on every drug that is sold over the counter.

Drugs came in different types. Hard drugs like heroin and cocaine make people feel crazy and out of control after its consumption and cause severe damage to their organs like liver and heart and these hard drugs often cause increase in serious crimes. Additionally drugs like alcohol and tobacco have not severe effects and make people feel relaxed after its use. People mainly use these type of soft drugs to make thier mind relaxed after spending a hectic day at work. I know alcohol and tobacco also cause lung cancer and heart attack but these damages can be aviodable if people use these drugs in control manner.

Furthermore,tobacco and alcohol are not as addictive as cocaine and herione. These strong drugs make people prisoner of them and the user of these drugs cannot stop taking drugs without seeking help of drug facilitation center. Moreover, alcohol and tobacco consumption can be controlled by the consumer if taken occasionally.

In conclusion, I believe due to difference of addiction between hard drugs and soft drugs, same laws cannot be applicable on all drugs. The consumption of soft drugs like tobacco and alcohol can be reduced by creating awareness about its effects on country level.