Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Government decisions about which drugs are made legal or illegal receive diverse public responses. The significant societal and health problems caused by legal drugs, such as tobacco and alcohol, have led many people to advocate for them to be made illegal like heroin or cocaine. However, I believe that despite their potential harm, tobacco and alcohol should be legal.

It is true that drugs such as tobacco and alcohol can cause substantial health risks and societal concerns. Tobacco use is associated with health problems such as cancer and heart diseases while second-hand smoke adversely affects nearby individuals. Similarly, excessive alcohol consumption can contribute to mental health problems, liver disease. Moreover, when people are under the influence of alcohol it can lead to aggressive behaviour.

Nevertheless, these types of drugs should not be subjected to the same strict laws as hard drugs like cocaine and heroin, as they are substantially less damaging and addictive. For instance, many people are able to enjoy a safe number of alcoholic beverages without compromising their health or endangering the public. Furthermore, when consumed in moderation, alcohol plays an important role in helping people to relax and enjoy themselves in social situations. While tobacco is certainly unhealthy, its prohibition may drive users to obtain the substance illegally or to turn to more dangerous alternatives.

In conclusion, although alcohol and tobacco do have problems for both people’s health and society, these problems are not severe enough to justify making them illegal. Instead, public advertising campaigns and educational policies should be put in place to help individuals make wise decisions about how to use these drugs.