Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Many governments believe that having economic success is the ultimate achievement. While others opine that many other aspects like a greener environment, social safety, security, and peace are more significant. This essay will discuss both views. I believe although having financial stability is of great importance, it should not be the only priority.

On the one hand, proponents of the claim that economic progress is of supreme importance express that with a strong economy comes a better lifestyle. The government can only provide high-level education, security, healthcare, and defense only when the country is financially well-off. Without the required funds it’s impossible to provide these facilities to the citizen. A great example supporting this fact is observing the downward spiral of ‘Sri Lanka.’ This country has suffered terribly due to its financial instability.

On the other hand, those who oppose the idea of economic advancement being of significant importance express that many countries have secured financial stability through industrialization and trading. Yet, the environment keeps deteriorating. No good or no progress can be long-term if a country cannot offer a healthy environment and peace to the next generation. Furthermore, only economic progress cannot ensure social security, peace, and values. Often in the process of urbanization and rapid advancement, which is a key to ensuring financial success, these factors end up being casualties. For instance, an increasing number of gun violence is happening in the country US. People have lost their sense of safety and peace due to these incidents.

In conclusion, focusing on building a strong economy for the country is definitely well-intentioned and this can provide the citizens with a great lifestyle, but I strongly believe if the other aspects are not handled with equal or more importance then only the financial boost cannot help a country.