Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by tourists not local people. Why this happens? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is generally believed that numerous museums and historical avenues seem to be attractive for visitors rather than local individuals. The following paper will be looking at the roots of this trend as well as proposing some plausible solutions.

The most apparent issue is the feeling of losing interest in the places after visiting. A clarification is that the majority of residents at localities have already been to these locations as well as fulfilling their knowledge about culture heritage and history. As a result, the pattern is likely to bring a reduction on the local habitants’ consideration to return to these avenues. Furthermore, with the transportation advancement and expansion of recreational complex, a significant number of people in the area undoubtedly share their preferences on going outside or even other countries to satisfy their curious about other regions’ cultural and historical backgrounds as well as participating in sporty events or explored activities which may bring them a sense of excitement and inspiration. Therefore, local individuals tend to spend their free time investigating the hidden or unfamiliar in other locations rather than re-visiting the old buildings.

There are several actions that can be taken to eradicate the abovementioned practical concerns. The first simply solution would be an attempt to upgrade the facilities as well as increasing the number of artefacts in order to enhance the attraction and the reputation. This is because, these locations seem to be gloomy and scratchy but thanks to the refurbishment, it can help these sites to be notable in the public eyes. In addition, the diverse types of relics exhibited could promote a willingness to approach new cultural and historical aspects. Therefore, the transformation of the infrastructures and contents could attract more local residents to pay a visit to these places more regularly. Another measure that can be considered is replacing the current method of absorbing information by giving an introduction to modern technological devices. For instance, at Hoa Lo prison, which is one of the famous historical relics in the center of Vietnam capital, visitors will be equipped with headphones connected to a record devices which aim in enhancing the personal experience. The information was saved in voice format by various languages which allows visitors to move and gain more know-hows via listening to the documentary at the same time. The new application would motivate not only visitors but also local individuals to invest time in these historical exhibitions.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that the feeling of losing interest in the places after visiting as well as the inspiration to investigate the unknown aspects haave caused a reduction of local people entering the museums and historical sites. However, there are a number of ways that locals could be encouraged to do so including restoration the facilities and technological advancements application.