Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by tourists not local people. Why this happens? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that museums and historical sites are more famous with visitors than local residents. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that governments can take steps to address these problem.

There are various reasons why local people find venues of cultural significance are less attractive than foreign tourists. To begin with, majority of people visiting these places are tourists because they come to local sites to experience new cultures and histories, and that is the first time they set foot on. This lead to the feeling of appeling to these local tourist destination. Furthermore, it is possible that local resident have already came to such places and they may understand deeply and be too familiar with them, that lead to the lack of interest. As a result, spending money on travelling their own museums and historical sites is a waste of money.

In my view, there are severals actions that the government could take to solve the problem. First of all, government should take responsibility for refurbishing by investing money on the local tourist attractions. As I mentioned, local people are accustomed to the local customs, so when local tourist destination renewing, the novelty can attract local people once again. Moreover, government can organize some activities that people can participate in such as community-focused events, workshops and festivals. In this way, the local heritage sites are not only appeling to tourists but also hold significant interest for residents.

In conclusion, various measures that I mentioned before can be taken to tackle the problem: investing money on the local sites and planning to organize activities that will engage both tourists and locals