Many museums and historical sites now offer immersive virtual reality experiences. Do the advantages of experiencing history in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Augmented reality (AR) has been used in many museums and historical sites to increase visitor and give new experience. Despite some probable drawbacks, I believe that the positive using AR is more significant because there is a visual and creativity, and I will explain why.

Regarding the benefits, it could be said that using augmented reality (AR) can give many visual 2D and 3D, which will make the visitors facinated. The transmutation and the movement art position make it like real, the people will impressed and will come back to visit the museum or historical sites if they are make interesed. For example, 3D Jakarta museums in Kota Tua with 100 mural 3D painting that attract visitor from another country or even local society. Furthermore, augmented reality is a form of creativity. Using AR can make the unique condition because it combine between modernization and history. by means of AR people are trained for creativity such us make 3D dinosaur which we do not see again in modern era so that we know the form from the 3D visual.

However, we should not ignore the various drawbacks. The historical authenticity and cultural immersion must be considered. Even there is used an AR in the museum, but the authenticity and the cultural in museum be necessary to maintained. Many people who want to visit the museum sometimes needing new knowledge about the history which they do not know, maintaining the originality history will very good. For instance, still combined between 3D or 2D visual with authenticity painting or another art from old designer or painter so the value can not disappear such as the chamber of imersif in national museum of Indonesia.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of using augmented reality is the good choice to make the visitors interested and to form the creativity between modernization and history.