Many museums and historical sites now offer immersive virtual reality experiences. Do the advantages of experiencing history in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern days, even museums have included the usage of virtual reality to their visitor’s experience. However, that development has sparked a heated debate between advocates and rigid critics regarding the authnecity of such places. In this essay, we will shine the light on both standpoints, and determine whether the the arguments of one party outweighs the other.

A compelling case can be made for the proponents. The virtual reality enhances the experience of visiting a museum, elevating it up to another level. Although it does the for the regular visitor, it also opens door for the individuals who never planned to visit a museum and find it ‘boring’. This is particularly evident in situations where students visit the museum on a school trip; the majority of the class do not pay attention and consequently miss the chance to discover the historical importance of things they are seeing. Beyond this, one must consider the mesmerizing experience to submerge in the virtual reality. Watching a dinosaur knocking down a tree is far more entertaining than hearing about how thick their bones were.

While the arguments of the proponents have merit, the critics treat the museum as a sacred place and experience. Refusing to melt the barriers between the historical sites and ruining it with the technology, detracting the authnecity of those places. Furthermore, they claim that entertainment has its own facilities. The museum and historical sites offer a great experience on its own for the people that truly admire them. Ultimately, they reject anything that would take something away from that experience.

In conclusion, while both sides present valid points, the evidence suggests that the of the usage of virtual reality has multifaceted benefits. Economically generate more revenue, which allows for a bigger budget that would be invested taking care of those historical sites. Looking ahead, it reasonable to expect more museums to include that into their visitor’s program.