Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for their study

It is true that, many students who have passed the school, works or travels for a specific length of time rather than admitting directly in university. While there are some drawbacks of this trend, I believe the merits outweigh the demerits.

There are a number of benefits and drawbacks of travelling after school life. One possible benefit is that it helps students to broaden their mind and keep stress-free. In the gap year before going to university after school life, students can explore the whole world through travelling. It will help them both in student life and after graduation life. Through travelling, they can improve their social interaction skills and moral values. Also it helps to enhance our idea of budget managing, geographical location and general knowledge. Travelling is also essential in our life besides our busy schedules. The main disadvantage of travelling is that it requires a huge amount of funds. Some families are unable to manage this for their child’s round the world trip.

On the other hand, if students choose to work before going to university, they can gain knowledge about working world and different job fields. Well, it is a good initiative to be in a job whether it is temporary or permanent. Besides, student should involve themselves in part-time jobs which helps them to regulate their daily schedule inlcuding study. Work experience gives them time to decide on what to do in future. Besides, they can also earn f by which they can fund their higher education. The drawback of working is that when students earn money, it helps them to detach from study. As a result, students working after school are often out of their study mind.

In conclusion, it is a matter of personal choice of a student. Although there are some negative effects of working and travelling, I would argue that if planned well, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.