Many museums and historical sites now offer immersive virtual reality experiences. Do the advantages of experiencing history in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been observed that a lot of museums and historical sites are trying to use variety of form to introduce interactive online display and virtual reality experiences. While there are several advantages to connect online platforms with educational and historical site, there are also notable disadvantages. Personally, I believe that this way will have invaluable outcomes. Both pros and cons are elaborated in the ensuring paraghraphs.

On the one hand, a significant key benefit is the convinient and controllable aspect. Online platform used by museums and historical places offers easier form to expand knowledge and cognitive, especially for students. The other positive thing is digital source is likely accessible which caused many individuals find it more intriguing. This is because, just in a hand and screen, we might gain essential information from many sources. In this fast paced world, it is common for many public parts to rely on technology improvements to enchance and maximize their performance to fulfill citizen needs. For instance, Geological Museum in Bandung used to have few visitors in a day because many people tend to act neglect and do not have spare time to visit museum. A lot of improvements had been constructed, such as having its own online platform that has the same function and section as the physical place make local people use that digital platform to broaden their knowledge.

However, a significant drawback is disused and less budget to maintance the facilities. Because of many people switch their visits to virtual experiences, the museums and historical sites rarely have physical visitors. As a result, there will be lack of income and funding to nurture the exhibition things and it might ended up with damaging invaluable facilities.

In conclusion, digital exhibits and experiences offer convinience and accessible to wider important information, but it also brings challenges such as lack of maintenance budget that caused property loss. I believe when managed responsibly, the benefits of using online platform clearly outweigh the drawbacks.