Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

People sometimes have to pay for admission to the museum, however some can be freely entered. While there is a disadvantage to charging people for entering, I believe that the advantages are clearly more significant.

On the one hand, the disadvantage of charging fees is regarding the knowledge of the items in the particular museum. First of all, people think that the museum is supposed to be free because most of the items in it are owned by none other than deceased individuals throughout history or the deceased artists. Moreover, the other reason is that by giving free access to the items in the museum such as art pieces or historical items, the knowledge provides the curious visitors to broaden their knowledge and the students, ranging from pre school to university, to freely research and write notes down about interesting details for presentation or project. Thus, charging fees could potentially harm them. In addition, not being able to freely enter will cause financial challenges for lower income families to reject the option of going to the museum if there are other free places to visit. Due to that, the percentage of visitors to the museum would be lower if the museums are charged.

On the other hand, one of the greater advantages is that entering fees can help the museum in various ways. For example, the preservation of the art pieces or the items in the museum are quite costly and sometimes have to pay to the artists for their arts to be displayed, which also causes money. Therefore, entering fees can be a solution to these problems. In addition, the museum can offer the visitors some services like giving access to free books for the particular items or opening the air conditioner. A further advantage is that in the psychological aspect, people value things more if there is a cost to it. Thus, having to pay for fees causes people to spend their time longer in the museum by viewing items carefully and reading the historical text or autobiography of the art pieces, which they normally skip if the entrance fees are free.

In conclusion, the advantages are of greater importance than the disadvantages. Despite the fact that the free access to the museum offers more and more visitors to come and broaden their knowledge, the entrance fees are essential for the museum to keep displaying mostly due to the maintenance ,and allows the visitors to value the items and the time in their museum.