Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons for that? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

The majority of the public believe that bicycles are a healthy transportation facility, but it’s not been commonly used in many countries. The main reason is the availability of time to the people. The public can be encouraged to use bicycles more frequently by launching various advertisement campaigns to discuss their advantages.

People often have a busy work routine at the workplace and are always thinking about saving time, to do different tasks. Generally, bicycles are considered a slower mode of transportation especially for longer distances. However, people can’t afford to lose their precious time while travelling. They prefer faster variants like a motorbike, a car or a bus to reach their destination. For instance, in Pakistan only a few old people use a bicycle either for exercise or to go to their job, whilst others don’t consider using it.

This issue can be resolved by presenting the positive effects of using bicycles. More effective advertisement campaigns can be launched to encourage the younger generation to use them. The primary focus of these ads should be on the health related benefits and environment friendly aspects. Some celebrities can also be casted in such ads to attract the younger audience. This will generate a rigid viewpoint among people in favour of bicycles usage. For example, tobacco and cigarettes were discouraged through such ads by putting up their adverse effects.