Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons for that? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Bicycle is widely considered to be a sustainable method to transport from two places, and it also has benefits for our bodies. However, more and more people have given up using it. In this essay, I will explore some reasons about the issue, and how to deal with it.

Firstly, in many countries, the facilities are bicycle un-friendly, for example, there are not enough areas for parking for bicycles, and on many roads, there is not a single path bicycle could pass through, so even people demand to ride a bicycle for transportation, but there is no way they could do that.

Secondly, there is also a problem with bicycles, it’s too slow, and most workers don’t have enough time to ride them from home to the workplace, and that’s why calling Uber is more option than riding a bicycle. At the same time, a bicycle requires more energy than a Motor Vehicle, so it is not friendly for people riding in the morning.

Even though there are many problems when people ride a bicycle, we could take action to improve these, firstly, the government could give a subsidy to those people who ride bicycles, and make more advertising to encourage people to ride bicycles instead of the private car, the government should also offer more basic facilities for bicycles, such as a locker, a public bicycle parking lot, and additional path for riding bicycles on roads.

To sum up, there are many reasons why people don’t ride bicycles instead of other transportation, including the lack of public facilities and the huge cost in time, and there are also several solutions the government could do to improve things.