Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons for that? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

In past times, most of the people preferred to use bicycle as a mode of transport but now it is becoming unpopular among everybody. The reasons for not using bicycle will be elaborated in upcoming paragraphs.

Cars and other modern technologies has changed the revolution of transportation so, cycling remained uncommon activity. One of the primary reason of not using bicycle is lack of infrastructure however there is insufficient structure for cycling so, people face fear of accident while riding bicycle on roads and highways .Moreover, because of its lightweight, it can be theft easily. Furthermore, people see cars as a status symbol so, they think that using cycle as a transportation can put bad impact on their image for the reason that cycle considered as a lower class vehicle.

To encourage the individuals to embrace bicycle as a mode of transport Government should invest more on road structure and they would build dedicated bike lanes for safety concerns. In addition, in every society workshop and seminars should be held for informing pupils benefits of cycling. By the way every child firstly learn to ride by tricycle or bicycle so, it should not be forgotten by anybody. Nevertheless, cycling can also be considered as a physical exercise and a daily ride of it can help people to build strength, endurance and bone density.

To conclude, if Government provide sufficient structure of roads and parking for cycling, it can gain public awareness. As a result it can be deliberated as a safe and eco-friendly method of transport.