Many people believe that everyone should work 4 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, it is argued by people that four days of work in a week will increase productivity amongst the employees. However, this development might as well have some demerits. I personally hold the perception that working four days will certainly be beneficial for workers.

On the one hand, there are plenty of reasons why most people agree with this matter. Firstly, three days of holidays will allow the workers to have quality times with their friends and family members. Because, in modern societies, stress has increased among people which is a big issue causing severe mental problems in many. Therefore, spending time with the close ones will relieve pressure and stress which shall increase productivity and enthusiasm of the employees. Secondly, due to a longer weekend jobholders will be able to invest more time on their hobbies or other skill development programs. As a result, an individual can work on his all round development which also impacts on his social and work life.

On the other hand, there is an increasing number of people who reckon working five or six days will be more effective. To begin with, if employees work for more than four days then the workload will be less. Otherwise, due to a few days at work, staff may feel pressured to complete their tasks by the deadline which would perhaps be hectic and hamper their performance. As a consequence, four or five days at work will help staff to distribute their work and work freely. Moreover, working more than four days will strengthen the bonding in the co-workers. The reason is, spending more time with colleagues is a must to run an organization in an effective and profitable way. Since they will meet each other regularly at the workplace, they will be able to discuss and plan on their work for a better performance.

In conclusion, it can be summarized by saying that both the arguments are valid on their own grounds. Nevertheless, I would strongly advocate for four days work because of numerous advantages it has to offer to both employees and their lives.