Many people choose to work or live abroad because of the higher standards of living they can find outside their home country. Do you think this brings more advantages or disadvantages to the people who follow this path?

Nowadays, more people decide to become global citizens by residing in foreign countries to uplift their quality of life. Many people argue that living abroad is beneficial, while some others believe that it has drawbacks. However, I believe that this case will bring more harm than good for the society.

To begin with, having a life in a foreign country is advantageous because of the higher salary. Countries with different currencies may have significant gaps on their minimum wages for workers. People who are skilled workers want to improve their life by going abroad, especially if their home countries did not offer the same standards. There, they will have enough money for their basic needs, health, and even to pay for their vacation trips and entertainment. In addition to this, with the higher salary, international workers can send some amount of money to their family in their hometown. With the difference in currency values, the small amount of money they send could mean a lot for their family.

On the other hand, some people also see a drawback if there is more interest for people to leave their home to work abroad. This is due to the lack of human resources a country will face if all of their qualified and educated citizens have a tendency to make a living in foreign countries. Without enough human resources, it is impossible for the government to develop many sectors effectively. Imagine if all the best engineers in our country go abroad and design magnificent bridges, roads or power plants, while none of the constructions in their country are good and sustainable.

Having said this, I believe that people need to contribute something to their home country through their professions. This is a responsibility that one shall have, thus they do not have to go far to make a living somewhere else; instead, they can focus on building and improving their home country and become part of the solution.

To sum up, although working abroad is advantageous for some people, others will find drawbacks in this. In addition, I believe everybody must pay something as give back to their community.