Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

In recent days, there are an increasing number of people who are doing jobs that they hate or have no talent for. This has become a prevalent issue and is having a substantially harmful effect on countries’ economies. This essay will discuss the primary causes of this issue and possible consequences.

To commence, the predominant reason that this phenomenon occurs is that most people are suffering from making a living from jobs that they love. There are significant gaps between the average wage in different industries, creating prejudices that some jobs are more well-paid than others. For instance, the number of Computer Science students has dramatically increased over the recent years. However, most of them stated that they are learning programming just because being a programmer has a higher salary, compared to other jobs. Subsequently, the number of students who graduated with a Software Engineering degree has also grown exponentially and exceeded the market demand. As a result, finding employment is more difficult, and those who successfully secure a job will be committed to a company, and too afraid to quit and find works that are actually more suitable for them. This will further widen the imbalance between the salary ranges of different industries, as some industries consistently develop quickly, while others witness continuous declines.

Another cause of this problem is that some jobs receive a higher level of respect from the community, whereas others are not as well treated. A common example to demonstrate this is the difference between a doctor and a programmer. While a programmer can possibly have a comparable income with a doctor, provided that they have splendid proficiencies, there would still be a difference in the appreciation from the social for them. Consequently, the majority of parents will guide their children to do some particular jobs that are seen as more honourable, irrespective of their natural talents or abilities. This will waste the children’s gifted capacities and thereby decrease the quality of the labour market in many sectors. As the level of competencies of the workforce constantly lessens over time, the country will observe significant productivity deductions, leading to an economic downturn.

In conclusion, it is imperative to be aware of the consequences of people wasting their natural skills and spending their lives doing work that they hate and have no interest in. This does not only affect those people themselves but also brings numerous adverse effects to a country’s workforce and economy. However, this situation can be ameliorated by having a consciousness of the consequences that may originate from choosing a job based on the level of recognition or salary. It is of paramount importance to know that the money someone makes relies on how excellent they are, rather than the job itself.