Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

In our contemporary society, it is possible to observe how the main reasons for the choice of a certain career are nor passion or talent. The following essay will provide information about the possible causes of this phenomenon and the alleged consequences.

To begin with, for numerous individuals having a job is not an arbitrary decision but a necessity related to self-sufficiency and financial independence. In fact, on many occasions, pursuing a career path which is aligned with inspiration and enthusiasm does not frequently match a significant wadge. Moreover, in most cases parents invest in the education of their children, having saved money or contracted loans for this purpose. Consequently, not disappointing their in-laws is considered a priority when deciding a specific work life, despite personal aspirations and ambitions.

However, working in a field which does not provide self-satisfaction could eventually lead to a consistent lack of motivation or, in contrast, to a rough increase in frustration or levels of stress. In these instances, constant situations of disappointment might have a gigantic impact on mental health, causing severe conditions, such as depression, anxiety, self-isolation, or self-harm tendencies. An excellent example of this appears in the Japanese suicide rate which is commonly known for its high numbers, and it is frequently related to motives connected to work.

On balance, I suppose that working life is influenced by economic and familiar circumstances causing, as a result, enormous outcasts in terms of psychological issues. It is our duty to develop self-awareness in contrasting this phenomenon.