Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

A numerous amount of people prefer to choose a career path that they have no interest in or lack talent for. In my opinion, this is happening because of the fear of failure embedded in people of our society. This situation often leads to the individual’s poor performance in work.

People in our world spend their life doing the job they do not like. It is because the fear of becoming a failure has been strongly seeded in our mindset from the very beginning of our childhood. From a very start we are taught that we must pass our tests with good grades to get in a good college then after college, we are taught that we must get a nice paying job to secure our status in the society and provide for our family. Which leads to the individual feeling an extreme burden on their shoulder. As a result, they end up choosing a career path that is less risky.

By picking a career that they lack the passion and talent for, they often get fatigued and burnt out as a consequence of their action. As a result, their performance in their job drops and they fall into depression from living the life that they hate. Many people often commit suicide from the regret of not choosing the life and work of their desire. the global suicide rate is at a high rise every year.

In conclusion people do the work that they hate or lack the interest for out of sheer pressure from our social construct to not end up as a failure. I believe we must get rid of such social stigma and normalise choosing a career which we are genuinely love.