Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, the advancement of the Internet has provided humans with a variety of online services, including the use of private information to log into social and financial platforms. While there are some benefits and conveniences that this brings for people, I firmly believe that this tendency has a lot of negative impacts on people’s security and the economy.

Undoubtedly, using personal information to sign up for social networks or online banking has advantages which make this trend prevalent. Firstly, many people have a poor ability of memory, leading to the fact that they cannot remember a huge amount of information. As a result, they frequently use kinds of details which are not easily forgettable such as phone number or date of birth, saving time for memorizing much information. Furthermore, users do not need to use different types of passwords, which have to be taken note of on papers or smartphones. Take the elderly as an example, they usually find it hard to be acquainted with high technology, thus their ideal passwords will be their home address and contact information.

Nevertheless, if many individuals take advantage of this usage, it will lead to several drawbacks for some reasons. It is undeniable that network security will be the factor affected the most, which means that a lot of cyber crimes have opportunities to exploit users’ private data. For instance, personal images as well as identification numbers can be used as lucrative products to undertake illegal behaviors. Moreover, these actions can significantly affect the financial situation for those whose information was leaked. This is because hackers not only can steal banking details in order to withdraw a huge amount of money of account’s owners, but also cheat the family and friends of users out of money due to the belief among relatives. Such actions will cause a great financial burden for both individuals and countries.

In conclusion, due to the usefulness of the online world, it is reasonable that many people choose personal details to register accounts on social media as well as online banking. However, I contend that the government should have plenty of cybersecurity policies so as to avoid negative consequences of the residents’ safety and finances.