Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Thanks to the modern technology, nowadays people can put their personal information on social networking sites and online banking. From my own perspective, this is a negative development.

On the one hand, uploading personal information for the purposes of working or social networks is essential. People do not have to go to the bank just for signing an account and they can use their social media account for a bunch of works. This aids them to work more effeciency and saves time. Moreover, some people find it practical to use one social media account for their apps because they can manage them with ease. Furthermore, users only need to provide phone numbers or email to get verified, which is useful when they have limited time to do this activity.

On the other hand, putting personal information online may contains drawbacks. The reasons are that users’ account can be hacked online and they will lost all their money and documents. A lot of people have lost their savings because of hackers attacks. Moreover, home address can be known by the thieves and they may break into their house. These are many reasons why putting personal information online is dangerous to themselves despite the convenience it brings to users.

In conclusion, putting personal information online is a negative development, though it may contains convenience for users. I believe it is harmful than helpful.