Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people tend to easily give up their personal information online for various reasons such as signing up for a social network account or opening an online banking. To me, this can be considered a negative development.

It is true that with the development of technology today, people can now put their information up online for a variety of application without even having to leave their houses and do it face to face, being able to easily giving out your information would make it morre convenient for candidate to sign up for different application such as social accounts, participating in competition or for a job, and that it would be easier for people to fix any mistake than on paper. It would also make it so that your information is visible to employer who would consider that whether you are suitable for the job or not. Saving a lot of time is also one of its many benefits.

Although it bring many advantages to people in vary ways, your information being so easy to access could lead to various dangerous downsides in terms of security and privacy. Online criminal are likely to have access to your info and use them to blackmail you or hacker who have the ability to gain access to your personal infos that create a threat from identity theft or they might steal your social numbers or bank account. For example, a friend of mine who click on an online advertisement which send him a message that said he had won a brand new smartphone and he only needed to send them 2 million for the transport fees, of course my friend did not fall for their trick but if it was an elderly or people with limited knowledges about the subject, they would have been scammed. The threat that came from this development are much more severe than its usefulness.

Being able to putting up our information up on the internet is considerably by many a advantagous development of technology but it is more of a threat to ones privacy and security and it should be aproach with caution to avoid dangerous threats.