Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Due to the advancement of technology, personal information has been updated on personal accounts. Despite some benefits from digitizing personal data, this phenomenon also caused numerous detrimental issues. From my perspective, digitalizing private data is a negative development.

To begin with, uploading personal details onto social platforms can lead to a risk of cyberattack. For instance, hackers, or scammers could hack victims’ accounts with a few specialised steps, then these criminals could easily steal every piece of information which has been uploaded from their victim’s accounts. Therefore, cyber offenders might use these private details to log into banking accounts, e-wallets, or online credit cards to steal immense monetary resources from the victims. Another catastrophic issue caused by posting personal data online is potential disturbances from commercial calls. This is because some untrustworthy enterprises might use consumers’ information to make turnovers by selling these data to other companies. Thus, customer services from commercial enterprises would spam consumers’ telephones, putting stress on receivers.

Despite these undeniable negative influences, many people argue that filling personal data in social media platforms, or banking accounts provides users with convenience in purchasing or shipping goods. Others point out that, digitising private enables users to save their information permanently, and prevents prominent written information from being lost, or damaged. However, I do not agree that uploading private details onto social platforms could enhance using experiences as operators rarely use this information in terms of purchasing, or operating accounts. Not only that, there are many other safe methods to save private information, such as noting on offline apps on smartphones, or writing diaries.

In conclusion, although digitizing personal data on the internet, or social platforms might benefit users to some extent, this tendency also poses serious threats to society, resulting in financial scams and disturbed calls. Therefore, this phenomenon should be evaluated as a negative development instead of a positive tendency.