Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, it is not uncommon for internet users to leave confidential information namely address, mobile phone number, etc. on social networking sites for the purpose of registering accounts. I believe despite some persistent security concerns this inclination brings, the advantages significantly overshadow its disadvantages.

On the downside, the availability of people’s personal information on the internet poses an ever-present threat to their privacy. This data could be exploited without users’ consent, and they may have to deal with nuisances like spam calls or emails on a daily basis as a result. In more serious cases, victims stand to lose a lot more than just their peace and quiet: for example, there have been many cases where access to personal information has been used to defraud people of their savings, or data leaks that cost public figures or those in a position of power their reputation because knowledge of their participation in a service or community that is considered inappropriate has been revealed by hackers.

However, I believe the benefits of having personal information readily stored on the internet are much more notable than the potential threats outlined above. First of all, it offers supreme convenience for internet users since they no longer have to sign up for new accounts but instead can access several online services within one or two accounts they already have. For companies, it will also be much more advantageous to tailor products and content that correspond to the demographics they cater to, and people will be able to see more of their advertisement. Second, the presence of confidential information online allows people to easily connect with like-minded individuals through suggestions from the networks they are on. Last but not least, it provides greater transparency and security, especially in the realm of financial services, as the personal information helps filter out clone accounts and identify an actual person when there is a party engaging in digital transactions.

In conclusion, while having our information stored online may cause us to be paranoid about whether it can be used to out disadvantages or not, I believe the upside in terms of accessibility, connectivity, and security is far more prominent.