Many people today choose self-employment instead of working for a company or organisation. Why do you think this is happening? What are the advantages and disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern society, being self-employed is becoming more and more popular. There are a lot of reasons for that, but the one that stands out the most is the possibility to manage your own time. Additionally, it can help to create a more flexible life with more free time. However, it has its own advantages and disadvantages. The most important benefit that comes from being self-employed is not being stuck behind the desk the whole day and an opportunity to make one’s life more flexible. Despite this obvious and tempting advantage, the main drawback lies in the fact that people have to take on more responsibilities when they are self-employed, compared to what they have to be in charge of when they are regular workers.

First of all, it is quite obvious that self-employment is gaining its popularity rapidly. That is because numerous people are tempted to have their own schedule, since it sounds like perfection: waking up whenever you want, working whenever you feel like, and not being stuck in an office from nine to five. And that is definitely true – self-employment has a wide range of positive sides, however it is also highly important to consider its possible negative sides.

To start with benefits, the most popular one from being an independent worker is that you are your own boss, so you do not have to report to someone or be reliant on someone. This is a huge advantage undoubtedly, since it will not only affect your day, but also your mood and might even change the attitude towards your job. For example, there are many cases on the Internet when people share their grueling and tiresome working experience. They were working as regular workers for their whole life and started to feel down due to their career. That is when a lot of them decided to stop this endless torture and become self-employed. And, unsurprisingly, their life has changed significantly thanks to that and now they are extremely satisfied with the decision.

In spite of this evident advantage, it is important you stay prudent and not wear rose-coloured glasses when it comes to being an independent worker. Mainly, that is because with such power of being independent also comes great responsibility. From now on, it is not possible just to take a sick leave and enjoy a holiday or something similar, but sometimes a person has to work even when one feels sick. Additionally, in some countries you have to deal with a lot of documents and taxes to work legally and not be in trouble with the government. For example, in Ukraine you are obliged to register yourself as an entrepreneur to work legally, otherwise you might be fined and your bank account might be frozen for a while.That is the reason why it is of great importance to consider everything before leaving your work behind – it happens that not all people are able to cope with all the difficulties that come from being an independent worker.

To sum up, self-employment has been gaining its popularity indeed. That is due to multiple reasons, among which the most common is being able to manage your day and work freely. What is more, it provides a person with a lot of new opportunities such as flexibility. Nevertheless, it is significant to acknowledge one has to become more accountable if he or she decides to become a self-employed worker