Many people try to balance work and other parts of their life. However, this is very difficult to do. What are the problems associated with this? What is the best way to achieve a better balance?

Achieving work-life balance is of great concern in today’s setting. However, it is challenging for one to strive a balance in their personal and professional life. This leads to increasing working hours and deterioration in one’s health, both physically and mentally. This essay will give insights on the two mentioned issues and propose two solutions, which are prioritizing tasks and setting boundaries at work.

One of the most apparent consequences of failing to achieve work-life balance is increasing working hours. Workers tend to dedicate themselves to work by working extra hours due to the heightened competitiveness in today’s workforce. To be more specific, there are thousands of fresh graduates entering the job market every year, which poses a threat to the existing workers. Their fear of being replaced by those qualified graduates explains their effort to work overtime. When they allocate more time to work, less time will be spent on other aspects of their personal life, which results in detrimental impatcs on their overall well-being. For instance, these people do not have enough time to unwind after stressful hours at work, resulting in a higher chance of them experiencing fatigue, exhuastion and even depression. In addition, working in the office for long hours often associates with the sedentary lifestyle, resulting in higher risk of getting obesity.

In order to maintain work-life balance, one should first learn how to prioritize tasks. There are numerous tasks needed to be solved within a day; therefore, it is of great importance to sort out important and urgent tasks, then try to complete those tasks first to achieve the highest level of productivity within office hours. Some of those tasks are writing a report, dealing with a crisis with a customer, or doing research about potential customers. Once those top-priority tasks are fulfilled, people can spend the remaining time for important but less urgent things such as building relationships or simply entertaining. Another strategy is to set boundaries between professional and private life. With that said, people should not bring work home unless they are urget. They had better not answer work-related emails or phone calls once they get home either. Setting clear boundaries is of great help in sparing some time for people to recharge their batteries, thus enhacing their productivity at work.

In conclusion, if work-life balance is failed to achieve, it may have a negative impact on workers’ overall health. By prioritizing tasks and setting clear boundaries as a worker, people can strive a balance between their career and personal pursuit.