Many say manufactures and supermarkets are responsible for reducing the amount of packaging of products they sell and others say it is the consumers responsibility to stop buying products with too much packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two main sides arguing about responsibility for over-packaging that could lead to global warming. One said it’s producers duty to manufacture with minimum package, another said it’s us, buyers duty to boycott those products. I see understandable reasons in both opinions but for me, I support the first idea which said that is firm’s responsibility. So in this essay, I will discuss both opinions with the reasons I found.

On the one hand, some group of people declaring that it’s our duty to cancel the company with too much packaging. To analyze their reasons they support this, it is all about sense of ownership. It is the idea that we should not impose such a huge role to one company or one producer but we view everyone in society as an individual without separating whether producers or consumers. The idea is that we will not rely private sector to solve such a hard mission like global warming but each of us has to have sense of responsibility for environment issues, and boycotting the sectors destroying the environment could be one of that.

On the other hand, many of populations believe that this is none of their business but it is producers authority to responsible for the package of product they produce own. I also support this, environment is the problem everyone in society have to think highly of, that is completely true, but in terms of packaging, I think it is still in area that producers could manage themselves. This idea is intensively related to CSRs stands for “Company Society Responsibilities” saying that it is one of firm’s responsibility to moderate their effect from their product or services to society and environment. In this 2024 that temperatures of our earth continue skyrocketing, icebergs melting and forests is cutting, it is already an obligation for company to reduce their materials to package their products to reduce the bad effects to environment. I think this idea is not bad for manufactures too, not only they could do something good for our earth, it is also perfect promotion for them that they really care about society not only their profit. In fact, me as a consumer already support many brands that do the thing like these.

All in all, I won’t say that we shouldn’t boycott the products with too much packaging, we can do that to create a movement of awareness! But I just think that main responsibility is on company to making money with minimum influence to environment, this should come first. And them, consumer can follow this trend by supporting the producers doing this.