Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

A bachelor’s degree is considered as one of qualifications to obtain a good job. However, some students claim that studying at college is more challenging than at school. This essay aims to analyze the two causes of this issue: bigger effort requirement and lonely learning environment; also provide feasible solutions, including choosing their favorite majors and creating a studying group.

Regarding the reasons why courses in university are more difficult than those in school, it is because university lessons require more endeavors to understand and fulfil assignments. For example, at school, students learn how to use the right form of English words in sentences. However, English lectures at university desire the origin of a word and its process of formation, which takes a huge amount of efforts for attendees to research and acknowledge. Additionally, students at college often come from various regions and countries, they may feel shy to make friends with others or ask for support from instructors. Thus, they have to figure out their questions themselves, making the learning progress more slowly.

To lessen the matter, there are two solutions. Firstly, students should choose the major that interest them, which inspires them to study hard. According to a recent study, an increasing number of freshers have dropped out of school due to the lack of motivations to overcome cumbersome academic tasks and exams. Following their parents’ advice without considering their own wishes and dreams, they, consequently, quickly lost their interest on the subject and decided to quit the semester. Besides, creating a group of schoolmates with the same interest provides opportunities to discuss, research, and share professional knowledge together, resulting in rapid enhancement and improved academic performances.

In conclusion, the effort and lonely learning progress challenge university students. They should motivate themselves by selecting the subject they like and study with people who share the same interest.