Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

One school of thought holds that studying at higher education is more challenging than at school. In that sense, this essay will discuss several underlying causes and suggest viable solutions to alleviate this problem.

This issue can be attributable to two primary reasons. Firstly, tertiary curriculums necessitate more skills compared to those at schools. To clarify, whereas schools basically concentrate on theoritical subjects, the focus of higher education institutions extend to job-related disciplines. Therefore, learning the lessons by heart, which students got used to doing while studying at school, is not enough to be able to perform excellently at university or college. Second of all, learners may not be familiar with the pedagogical methods employed at tertiary education. To illustrate, as individuals were at a young age while learning at school, they are given meticulous care and attention by teachers. By contrast, professors at university or college usually let students complete tasks on their own, which may hinder the process of grasping knowledge, especially of those who are not fully independent when it comes to studying.

Several feasible measures can be taken in order to mitigate this issue. First of all, learners should get themselves acquainted with difficult subjects while studying at school. In particular, individuals ought to browse online and search for disciplines that they are going to engage in at higher education. Subsequently, they can equip themselves with a wealth of background knowledge before attending tertiary education, which may play a fundamental role in their academic performances. Secondly, learners should participate in part-time jobs. These jobs will provide individuals with hands-on experience that not only aids in job-related disciplines, but also builds practical skills necessary for their career path in the long run.

In conclusion, tertiary curriculums are more challenging than those at schools due to the fact that these subjects require more skills as well as unfamiliar pedagogical methods. However, with students augmenting their preparedness and engaging in part-time jobs, this problem can be alleviated, thereby improving people’s experiences at higher education.