Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

Student cannot study well when they are at the university or college has been a prevalent issue that concerns many people. In this essay, I will first discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and then suggest some possible solutions.

The reason can be that learning tasks in university become more difficult and students lack study motivation. In school, student learn more about the fundamental knowledge, which are better to understanding. They can gain high scores through repetitive practices and thus, students lack of the critical thinking and independent learning abilities. However, in university, they need to learn specialized knowledge and do some research projects independently. Because students lack related practices, they may find it hard to gain high academic performance easily. Additionally, students received exam-oriented education in school, and they are told that the goal is to obtain university qualification. When they enter the university, they may lose the goal and have not found their interests. So, they may lack the motivation to study, which makes it harder to study in university. Therefore, the change of learning contents and students lack study motivation make they study harder in university.

In order to response this problem, several strategies can be adopted. Firstly, universities can set up support groups, which help to solve the problem of difficult learning contents. Support groups can provide a platform to provide professional help and create academic atmosphere to promote academic exchanges. Secondly, students should be exposed to different professional fields and find a field they really interested, which can promote them more concentrate on learning. Meanwhile learn about time management and goal setting to make study more organized.

In conclusion, learning contents become difficult and students lack study motivation can be the reasons for studying more difficult in university than school. Possible ways to improve this situation include setting up support groups and letting student find their interests fields.