Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is a common belief among students that universities or colleges are more difficult that schools. This phenomenon can be attributed to a large amount of practical knowledge required. However, there are some interventions, typically engaging in major-related activities and staying proactive in learning from others, to deal with such issue.

Most students reckon universities and colleges are more challenging than previous academic environments because of the demand for profound academic understanding. During our childhood and adolescence, we are taught basic things to first form a steady foundation, which requires preliminary comprehension regarding their usage. However, since the university and college level is an important preparation step for our future jobs, we need to comprehend profoundly the knowledge to apply them in the right situation. This would further elevate the efficiency of our career. For instance, when assessing the stability of your company, you should know it is suitable to utilize the analyzing graphs and measuring skills taught in your high school years.

To mitigate the problem, some potential solutions do exist, including partaking in associated programs and maintaining a strong desire in learning. By joining activities connecting your industry, you would have more opportunities to experience the possibly similar circumstances and hone your practical knowledge. For example, provided that you do not take the chance of being an intern at an office, you may not get an idea of what your peers say because of the jargons used. Furthermore, it is essential to learn from experienced people by acquainting them and asking questions, even on social media platforms. They have been in the industry long enough to face with different issues. A determined individual in discovering would boost their self – esteem which makes them eager to help.

In conclusion, the need to comprehend practical knowledge is one of the primary reasons that makes universities and colleges appear harder than schools. To tackle this problem, students can attend related programs and learning from the experienced.