Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

Nowadays, outdoor activities such as hiking, climbing and enjoying nature are taken for granted by a great number of young people. The rapid development of technology has raised this issue in recent decades and a viable solution is to arrange new and attractive outdoor organizations in nature.

In past years, people were more willing for outdoor activities rather than indoor activities, but technological advancement has changed the situation. Technological gadgets such as phones, computers and game consoles have shown people the possibility of entertainment at home. They can have fun and pass their times with playing a game or watching a film when they are at home. Therefore, outdoor events became unpopular and they preferred indoor activities which require less effort than outside events. For example, in recent years, children learn to use technology since their birth because it is main demand of today’s world. However, they cannot understand if people can pass their times at home as fun as outside, why they should participate other activities.

A solution that is organizing more events for youngsters with low prices. There are many responsibilities for governments because only they can start this trend. They should start with little but attractive occupations. For example, they may begin to build football and basketball courts at every park near to apartments. Because, in this case outdoor activities become closer for children and increase number of participants. If governments can catch children’s attention and they try to join outside activities, most of children will search other adventures such as hiking, climbing or others.

To conclude, although many people are unwilling to join outdoor activities, I believe this problem can be tackled by successful strategy of governments.