Media coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that some individuals are frightened by media coverage of violent crime, which leads to the thought of banning it from newspapers and TV programmes. I am strongly against the idea of completely banning the violent crime reports from the media because it has some benefits to the community.

Firstly, news of violent crime could provide some awareness to individuals about their surroundings. Some people may think that their neighbourhood is safe because they do not experience any crimes. However, by knowing the occurrence of the violent crime even if it is not in their community, they can be aware of people who have intentions to commit violent crime. For instance, the media usually reports the behavior of the criminals, such as specific clothes and strange movements. Therefore, people can notice any unusual presence and avoid the crime.

Secondly, media usually present the information of the places and times that the criminals usually take actions. This information can be used by individuals, especially vulnerable groups, i.e. women, to have preventive measures to avoid the violent crime. These actions can be: (1) always stay on alert, (2) avoid dark places, (3) bring the pepper spray, etc. A woman could escape from rape because she prepared the pepper spray o=in her bag. Thus, the news can provide a way to people for avoiding violent criminals.

All in all, even though some people may be frightened by the media coverage of violent crime, it still has some advantages for others, such as providing awareness and detail information to avoid the crime. Therefore, it should not be completely banned. However, it should follow the journalistic etiquette to prevent unnecessary problems.