Media coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that media coverage of violent crimes should be banned, as this terrifies people and encourages criminals. While some people oppose this, I strongly argue in favor of this notion, as such news can heighten public anxiety and indirectly promote criminal activity.

One argument against this suggestion is that banning media coverage of crime restricts people’s rights to information. If violent crimes were banned from reporting, governments could misinform citizens or hide rising crime rates. As a result, people may remain unaware of serious threats in their neighborhood, increasing vulnerability rather than safety. In contrast, if authorities warn citizens in time, not only could it increase public awareness, but it could also make people take action.

These arguments notwithstanding, I remain convinced that banning news that depicts violent crime is better. First and foremost, persistent portrayal of violent crime may potentially lead people to believe that the crime rates are higher than they actually are. This can, in turn, make people feel unsafe even in extremely safe environments, which further provokes mass distrust and anxiety.

Another argument in favor is that coverage of crime may encourage criminals to break the law further, especially those striving for recognition and reputation in the criminal world. Thereby, constant reporting may unintentionally contribute to the very problem it aims to tackle. The Columbine school shooting, for instance, proves that extensive media attention can contribute to the imitation of well-known criminals.

In conclusion, although some people highlight democracy and freedom of speech as the primary advantages of media coverage of offenders, I contend that banning them would be much better on both individual and societal scales.