Medical procedures for cosmetic purposes should not be allowed. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, there is an opinion that medical interventions which are performed for cosmetic reasons should be restricted. As for me, I totally disagree with this point of view because several types of cosmetic procedures have objective and serious medical indications, but people should always have the right to manage their own bodies and to make decisions about whether they will have an operation or not.

Firstly, my opinion contradicts the given expression because there are many problems that, at first glance, have a cosmetic nature, but they are serious diseases. For example, it can be said that a person has a mole on their face and there is no need for intervention, however, there is a high likelihood that it is a type of skin cancer like melanoma, therefore, it should be removed immediately, otherwise, it will be lethal to the patient. The significance of this example is that the removal of any type of skin tumour is considered cosmetic surgery and, therefore, if the decision to restrict such procedures was made, there would be unwanted deaths.

Another point why I disagree with the restriction of medical procedures for cosmetic needs is that all people should make their own decisions about doing them. In my opinion, every person has a right to dispose of their body and can do whatever they want with it. For example, if a person dislikes the shape of their own nose, they can change it with the use of plastic surgery. However, if people are not allowed for such procedures, this may cause such types of psychological disorders as lower self-esteem, depression or social phobia. Additionally, such restrictions may encourage people to go to underground clinics, where the conditions are significantly worse than in official hospitals, and there will be a higher risk of being infected and getting post-surgery complications. Therefore, there will be more negative consequences if a government decides to deprive the right of its citizens to choose and change their appearance.

To conclude, I strongly disagree with the opinion that medical procedures should not be allowed for cosmetic purposes. This is because some cosmetic operations have a medical significance rather than just enhancing the beauty of a person, and the other reason is that people should have the right to choose whether they want to have an operation or not.