More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the excess consumption of fast food, the number of obese people is increasing day by day. Most people think that extending the cost of fattening foods prevents people from buying it. I totally agree with this affirmation as these type of food harms the health of workforce of any country.

People like to enjoy having junk food because it saves time and is also affordable. Especially people who live away from their family and hometown are found to consume every kind of food except for homemade food. Eventhough these foods are convenient, it is very unhealthy. A research shows that, most of the young adults die due to heart attack and the major reason behind it is found to be poor diet and lack of physical exercise.

The fattening foods not only hamper one’s health but also deteriorates a country’s development. Majority of the people are obese and are immune to many other diseases. Hence, an unhealthy population cannot contribute to the welfare of society and country, which is why it’s necessary to increase price of fattening foods. For instance, many people in Nepal used to drink alcoholic beverages in high amount but since the authorities began to impose greater amount of taxes on these items the rate of consumption decreased by 50%.

To conclude, to reduce the number of people eating unhealthy food, the solution is to impose more money which discourages people to dine out.