More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that the issue of obesity is growing adversely. While one school of thought holds that an increase in high-calorie foods is the optimal solution to this problem, I am of the opinion that these are particular measures which would be more effective than raising unhealthy foods’ prices.

On the one hand, It is understandable why some people support the idea of considering high fattening foods’ costs as the foremost method to tackle obesity-related problems. The key rationale is that heightening these food items’ prices would lead to a decrease in the demand for unhealthy food consumption. This means that people are expected to switch to consuming more wholesome food, which could curb obesity problems. However, such a scenario would not happen as the nature of fattening foods is readily available, particularly fast food, which is suitable for those who have hectic schedules such as full-time workers or students who struggle to prepare their own meals at home. Therefore, imposing a higher price on these food items should not be deemed as the most practical solution.

On the other hand, I believe that other feasible measures could be taken to remedy the obesity issue. One feasible solution should be to raise public awareness about the repercussions of being overweight such as cardiovascular diseases and diabetes . This is because once people are cognizant of these consequences, they might proactively lower their consumption of unhealthy foods. Aside from that, an immense investment should be made so as to provide support packages to wholesome food, making these foods more financially accessible. Therefore, the demand for fattening food consumption would be reduced.

In conclusion, I would contend that an increased cost of this type of food could not be considered as the most feasible method to solve overweight health problems as the proposed measures seem more workable.