More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The obesity is becoming serious issue among many people. Therefore, it is suggested that the rise of unhealthy food and products’ price might solve this problem. In this essay, I will delve deeper into this issue and share my perspective of disagreement.

Looking at the benefit, some people would be reluctant to buy such an expensive yet unhealthy fattening food if the government instructed to put higher price on such products. However, its cost is not the sole reason why costumers choose to consume it. Fattening foods including burgers, candies and chocolates, can also be the cause of addiction problem. People who suffer from junk food addiction, for instance, never hesitate to buy fattening products regardless of its price.

On the other hand, there are many ways of preventing the obesity. Firstly, educating and increasing the knowledge about the negative consequences of obesity and higher sugar intake, would be the effective solution. In Mongolia, the education system successfully spread awareness of overweight problem to the elementary school students, resulting in lower obesity level among teenagers. Second solution would be the restriction of using the unhealthy ingredients in goods. Such method can facilitate to decrease the number of fattening products in supermarkets, eventually eliminate fattening foods.

In conclusion, putting a higher price on junk food to solve the obesity, might impact some individuals who are not yet suffer from the addiction. However, other options including spreading awareness to the youngsters and prohibiting the use of harmful substances in foods, are available. These solutions can successfully prevent from overweight issue in more wider community.