More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The obesity problem has become a more pervasive and more threatening issue for societies. Therefore, the idea of raising the prices of hazardous nutrients is considered a remedy to tackle the situation, while I firmly disagree with that notion, because the considered remedy is unable to eradicate the situation, on the contrary, it escalates individuals’ attention towards the fattening foods. The sole solution, however, goes through the education of parents regarding healthy diets and lifestyles.

The idea that making fattening foods more unobtainable by increasing their costs to tackle the obesity situation would be futile because when people cannot reach something in life, they become more liable to make an effort to attain it. Thus, if authorities put into force the high price policy on fattening foods, it would exacerbate consumers’ interest in them. For instance, children tend to exhibit behaviors that had been strictly forbidden by their parents in advance.

On the other hand, the most practical and sustainable solution is only educating parents about the significance of healthy food and lifestyle. In other words, the obesity situation will remain as an unsurmountable issue for humankind in the future unless parents are convinced to get rid of their detrimental eating habits by education. It is an undeniable fact that children tend to take a leaf out of their parents’ books, thus a sustainable solution cannot be achieved as long as do away with the discrepancy between parents’ say and their acts. If parents cut out fattening foods from their eating habits, new generations who are more reluctant to consume hazardous foods can be grown.

In conclusion, although some people believe the overweight population can be mitigated through increasing fattening food prices, that attempt would culminate in failure. However, authorities should launch public education programs to enhance public awareness about healthy nutrients and lifestyle.