More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the popularity of overweight has surged. Some individuals claim that a higher price on fattening foods would have a positive impact on dealing with obesity. I partly agree with this suggestion for some reason explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales that support the claim that increasing the price of fast food would be a solution for the overweight. It is undeniable that fast food is popular among society thanks to its flavor and affordable price. While the wide spread of fattening food is increasing and even playing a pivotal role in some local specialities, it is crucial to acknowledge the negative impact and potential health issues involved when consuming a large amount of fast food, ranging from obesity to cardiovascular desease. Putting a higher price on fattening food can decrease its consumption, thus indirectly help citizens to change to a healthier diet. This would relieve a lot of burden on the whole healthcare system in each nation.

On the other hand, despite the idealistic nature of increasing the price of unhealthy food, it is still important to recognize the important of education and public awareness in terms of the overweight. Schools and other educational organizations should bring more lessons about the negative effect of fast food and unhealthy diet on people’s health, enabling children to acknowledge about this issue earlier to build a healthy lifestyle when they get older. Furthermore, government can pursue advertisement or slogan about the emergency of obesity in society through public media, thus encouraging individual to change their diet to a healthier way.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinion on whether putting higher price on fattening food can make contribute to the problem of obesity, I believe that this solution can play a critical role in the change of people’ diets but it need to be adopted along with other solutions, such as increasing education or implementing other regulations, to deal efficiently with the overweight in society.