More and more people are choosing to work from home with the help of technology. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development ?

Nowadays a large group of people prefer to work from their homes, instead of doing it from office. Working from home makes employees feel more comfortable and be more flexible with their jobs, positively affecting their mental health; However, this freedom decreases level of engagement in work processes and might badly affect companies. I think that in most of cases doing job from home is more beneficial than office working.

The main advantage of working from home is flexibility. In fact, it saves a lot of time, people do not have to waste their time driving to their job through the traffic jams or ironing suits for the next working day; However, they can spend this time doing their job tasks with no need to hurry. Also, it is better for introverted people, who don’t like to communicate with colleagues, by suggesting them more comfortable environment.

On the other hand, working from home makes workers more distant from their employers and each other. Because of its freedom, it may be complicated for some people to do their job instead of enjoying their hobbies and doing house chores without being under boss’ control. Also, the office environment is really important, it makes people think and talk mostly about their jobs, which increases level of productivity.

To summarise, working from home is a great way to make job more comfortable, especially for unsocial people. The important factor of successful “working from home” policy is that employees should be selfdisciplined and organised, to overcome their desire just to chill at home.