More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Recently, the volume of urbanization has been significantly rising due to the prosperity gap between the rural and urban areas and the lack of facilities and infrastructure within the countryside region. However, a high volume of migration to the city will be a source of problems for the city’s employment and increase living hardship. This essay discusses the difficulties of living in a city and the measures that the government could take to overcome these challenges.

Among many difficulties that can appear due to the increasing number of migrants, employment competitiveness and economic hardship are two main problems that will be encountered by the migrants. Surely, the major development of the city attracts more and more job-seeker from the rural to find opportunities in the city. However, most migrants from the countryside are unskilled and poorly-educated individuals who will add a burden to the city. They will find it hard to get a job. In addition, these less-educated and untrained migrants are going to create a poverty problem and they probably struggle to fulfill their basic needs. Yet, these problems are going to increase the number of slump areas within the city.

To deal with these problems, two viable solutions can be taken by the government. First, the government should prevent excessive urbanization by taking a serious step to alleviate living standards in rural areas with additional funds for building its infrastructure and facilities, especially social, health, and education amenities. This move is a long-term measure to greatly reduce people’s intention to move to the city. Second, for short-term solution, the government should impose strict regulations regarding migration terms for the possible migrants such as setting minimum age requirement, a work permit to permanently live in the city, and prohibiting illegal workers.

To sum up, the escalating urbanization, driven by rural-urban disparities, poses challenges of employment and economic hardship. To address this, the government can invest in rural development for long-term impact and enforce strict migration regulations for immediate relief, promoting balanced urban growth.