More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is believed that a large number of populations are moving to urban areas hoping for better welfare and quality of life for their families. There are various problems of life faced by the city residents and possible solutions that can be taken into account by the authority to solve those difficulties.

The foremost problems of living in the city are high cost of housing and traffic in the road. As the investment values are higher in urban areas, many rich persons willing to spend much money to buy appartements and houses although the prices are sometimes illogical. In the case of Yogyakarta city, the government can not bear this situation because there is no complain from the consumers regarding the housing expenditure. Other essential problem is the traffic occurring in the road caused by the massive transportation to certain industrial or public service areas where most people work for their life. This can cause domino effects such as increasing stress and health risks related to pollutions.

The viable strategies that can be implemented by the government to tackle problems above are making housing price policy and providing public transportation. If the authority has a strict standard for housing price determination and punish whom disobey the rules, the percentage of city inhabitants that can afford to buy houses or appartement will increase. Besides, the government also can provide affordable houses for whom has salary below the city standard with subsidy mechanism. To overcome the traffic jam, the government should maximize the public transportation facilities by improving the service and expanding the destinations. These ways could rise the number of city residents using public transport such as bus to go to their office or schools, so that the number of vehicles in the road will decline.

To sum up, the high expenditure allocated for housing or appartements and traffic jam are two main problems that should be born by urban areas inhabitants to reach better life. These problems can be minimized by government policy regarding houses pricing standard and the availability of convenient public transport that covers wider areas.