More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

There is an inevitably increasing rate of urbanisation for the reason of life improvement. In spite of some overwhelming challenges of living in a city, several alternative measures can be carefully taken by the local authority to improve the wellbeing of the city inhabitants.

Despite the perceived life improvement, city holds various lingering problems, making it difficult to live in. One of most infamous hurdle is the expensive living cost, could be significantly higher that in rural areas. Living in Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, for instance, could cost double more than the nearby areas such as Cirebon and Garut. In addition, the fact that more people are migrating to cities over time, it becomes overpopulated, resulting in vicious environmental problems such as air and water pollution as well as abundant domestic waste. Furthermore, overpopulation could also mean higher competition in relatively limited job availability.

Nevertheless, the city government should make some regulatory arrangements to enhance public welfare. Expensive living should be eased by a carefully considered minimum wage adjustment. Social safety measures might also be established in order to uplift the misery of poverty. It also functions as the safety net for those who by force become unemployments caused by the high job competition. Furthermore, some innovative programs could be initiated by the government to overcome the environmental challenges such as provisioning fast and comfortable public transportation and city park as well as the modern waste management. These should be accompanied by the effort to improve public awareness in environment sustainability.

In shorts, urbanisation possessing various difficulties could be eased by some preventive solutions. Finally, both the city government and public should hand in hand in tackling hurdles in living in the city.